Friday, May 7, 2010


Get on it, you know it’s gonna be funny.

Deluxe has a video and photo recap from Lance Mountain and Brian Fick’s art show over the weekend at Hensley’s. Check it out.

Straight from our mates from across the pond, here’s a recap of this years War of the Thistles—the annual Scottish weekender. Check out TeaBag, Chris Jones, Barney Page, Benson, Colin Adam, Tom Harrison, Korahn Gayle and a variety of others.
Day One: DumbartonAntwuan reviews the latest re-cut of A Nightmare on Elm Street for the first episode in Supra’s new series: Antwuan at the Movies, where Mr. Dixon provides cultured reviews of the latest theatrical blockbusters. More episodes coming soon.

Cole, P-Rod, Sheckler, Rowley, Dollin among 48 Top Pro Skaters Descending on NYC June 5-6:  $250,000 Prize Purse and Title of MMC NY Champ up for Grabs
The Maloof Money Cup presented by Vans and airing live on FUEL TV this summer — announces the 48 pro street skaters who will compete in the first-ever MMC New York contest June 5-6 in Flushing Meadows Corona Park, Queens.
“Our skater selection committee is made up some of the most respected people in the skateboarding industry.  They really had a tough job,” said MMC creator Joe Maloof.  “They set out to put together the best collection of skateboarders to ever enter a contest and I think they did just that. One thing the committee agreed on was that there are too many amazing pros out there, creating a list of 48 skaters was really the key to putting together an unparalleled roster. Besides the big names like P-Rod and Chris Cole, we’ve got some highly respected skaters like Mike Carroll, Dustin Dollin and Marc Johnson who don’t usually skate contests, and some amazing guys who are competing at MMC for the first time like Justin Brock and Anthony Van Engelen. With a group of skaters this talented and diverse, the field is wide open and fans are in store for a spectacular competition June 5-6.”
TOP 48 MMC NY STREET SKATERS (in alphabetical order)
Adam Dyet
Alex Olsen
Anthony Van Engelen
Billy Marks
Brandon Biebel
Brandon Westgate
Brian Anderson
Brian Hansen
Bryan Herman
Chris Cole
Chris Haslam
Chris Pfanner
Corey Duffel
Darrell Stanton
David Gonzalez
David Gravette
Dennis Busenitz
Dustin Dollin
Emmanuel Guzman
Eric Koston
Geoff Rowley
Grant Taylor
Greg Lutzka
Jake Duncombe
Jamie Tancowny
Justin Brock
Keegan Sauder
Leo Romero
Lizard King
Luan Oliveira
Marc Johnson
Mark Appleyard
Mike Carroll
Mike Mo Capaldi
Nick Dompierre
Nyjah Huston
Omar Salazar
Paul Rodriguez
Pete Eldridge
Peter Ramondetta
Ryan Sheckler
Sean Malto
Stefan Janoski
Tommy Sandoval
Torey Pudwill
Zered Bassett
NY Wildcard Skaters
Danny Falla
Eli Reed
“To have these pros compete at the first-ever MMC New York contest is really exciting,” said Maloof.  “They’ll be breaking-in this brand new street course, inspired by iconic NY skate spots, which will be donated to the City after the contest.  The New York fans that come out to watch MMC live June 5-6 will have the opportunity to skate on the same course christened by these top pros, after the contest.  I’m really excited to see that happen and to see the next generation of skateboarding pros that will come out of Queens and NYC.”
Selection Committee
The 2010 skater selection committee included some of the industry’s most widely respected experts:  Jake Phelps, Bill Weiss, Ewan Bowman, Mike Sinclair, Jamie Thomas, Seamus Deegan, Kelly Bird, Steve Rodriguez, Mark Waters, Mike Burnett, Mark Nardelli, Jamie Hart, Remy Stratton and Tim Gavin.
Watch MMC New York LIVE
FUEL TV will broadcast two hours of live coverage each day during the New York contest, June 5-6 and the Orange County event, August 4-8.  Skateboarding fans will also have access to more than 30 hours of additional live coverage via FUEL TV’s exclusive HD webcasts of both contests at

Last Saturday May 1 was the grand opening/spring kickoff of Fairfield, Connecticut’s newest skatepark located at Jennings Beach. The day started off great with a lot of kids and crews in attendance. Crews from New Hampshire, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, and, of course, Connecticut all came out to join in the festivities. Appearances from the 5boro and Habitat flow teams got everyone stoked. There was even a Kerry Getz sighting! The true highlight of the day was the best trick contest that went down the seven stair. Kids were going for any and everything. Highlights of the best trick included first place John Desimas’ switch frontside bluntslide down the rail and second place Dillion Buss’ total annihilation, which included a back 360, nollie heel, nollie backside heel, and a switch flip that won him 20 bucks and two tickets to the Maloof Money Cup from Steve Rodriguez. Other memorable tricks that went down were Doogie’s frontside 360 and 360 flip. All the kids were going for broke and it made for an awesome best trick contest. Unfortunately the day got shut down early by the brilliant Fairfield Police, who issued warnings to Steve Rodriguez and Jeff Walsh for lack of PA permits. This came as a shock especially since earlier in the day the town’s First Selectmen and Director of Parks And Recreation used the megaphone to congratulate the kids in working to get the park built. After the warning was issued it was decided that it was time for a product toss, and what a brutal one it was. Product was donated from Day One Skateshop,  5boro, Division East, NJ Skateshop, TWS, and Toebock. The kids went nuts wrestling for boards, shirts, DVDs and stickers. And what would the day be without a parking lot fight, in which an unknown ripper inflicted a beat-down on some old dude who was wailing on a kid. It was a shame the other best trick contests couldn’t go down but everyone kept an upbeat attitude and made the best of what went down. After the contest everyone headed over to Day One Skateshop for an epic kegger/mini ramp session. It was a sick day, despite the drama. Big ups to TransWorld, Toebock, Day One, and 5boro for getting this event going. Hopefully we can get a PA permit next time and let the kids murder the remaining obstacles in the park! 5boroguys
5boro crew.
Two Hawks Young, nollie flip.
Steve Rodriguez on the megaphone.
Adam Crew, nollie backside flip.
Dillion Buss, 360 ollie.
Bobby Dorin, blunt kickflip fakie.
Dillion Buss, kickflip over the whole enchilada.
Lien air.